OCP Super-Precision

OCP is a Super-Precision bidding system loosely based on descriptions of Super-Precision by Benito Garozzo & Giorgio Belladonna, and also by Eric Jannerstern. I say loosely, because over the years OCP has developed in many directions away from the Super-Precision of the 1970's and 1980's. OCP makes more extensive use of Asking Bids, Lebensohl and has advanced techniques for coping with interference in Asking Bid sequences.

The original system that I developed firstly with Bob Bradbury in the early 1980's, and later with Jason Hackett was a system primarily intended for use in Team events. Some of the Openings only gained Restricted or even Experimental licences at the hands of the English Bridge Union, but most of the system is equally applicable for use in Pairs events. In recent years, the system has developed even further, with more extensions and some new Asking Bids. Since 1992, however, I have played exclusive online via Bridgebase Online and the restrictions that the EBU or ACBL would place on us do not apply there.

BBO & IAC

BBO is where I play my Bridge these days. It's the world's best Bridge site and provides a wealth of facilities. The Intermediate/Advanced Club (IAC) on Bridgebase Online is a friendly and relaxed private Club for players who want to improve their Bridge.

A number of regular teaching classes are held in IAC and I (OliverC on BBO) run a regular 12-month Course on OCP Super-Precision in IAC, each Saturday at 9pm GMT/UTC. Regular practices are also held during each week, hosted variously by lute57, RogerPfi and Maysie.

This Site

This site gives full details of the Super-Precision that I teach (OCP) for people attending those classes and any else interested. Details of the system can be found via menu at the top of the window. The site is extensive and there is also an message Forum where OCP devotees discuss the system and assist each other in their studies.

These pages are the definitive and always up-to-date description of OCP. Downloadable documentation is not always as current. Where the system has changed recently, the page in question will alert you to that change

Next OCP Teaching Session

Oliver's next OCP teaching session will be held
at 20:00hrs UTC (16:00 EDT)
on Saturday, 6th July 2019,
in BBO's Intermediate/Advance Club.
Topic will be: Introduction to Precision,
(General Introduction to the Precision Club System. Opening Bids)

Next OCP Practice

The next scheduled OCP Practice Session is due
at 21:00hrs UTC (17:00 EDT)
on Sunday, 23rd June 2019,
in IAC.
The targetted hands will concentrate on
Targetted Practice (Theta & Iota).
Host: lute57

Roger Pfister
Roger's site is home to the magnificent aaBridge (great for helping you to learn OCP), ChatAssistant (for the BBO windows client) and AlertHelper (for the BBO browser client) utilities.

Roger also posts Videos of each lesson on the OCP Super-Precision Channel on YouTube

Latest OCP News

Simple Series Sessions (10-May-2019)
Apologies, but it's not going to be worthwhile my starting the Simple Series until July because of commitments that have cropped up in June. Accordingly the first session in the new "Simple" series will be on Saturday 6th July at 9pm UK time (8pm UTC, 4pm EDT).

Because my lesson times are now dictated by my shift pattern (which takes no notice whatever of Daylight Savings), I have to keep my lesson times in the same pattern UK time rather than UTC, as previously. Consequently the session times will appear to become an hour earlier between April and the end of October.

Starting on 6th July, the repeating 5-week pattern will start:
  • 6th July 2019: 8pm UTC (9pm UK, 4pm EDT)
  • 13th July 2019: 8pm UTC (9pm UK, 4pm EDT)
  • 20th July 2019: 7pm UTC (8pm UK, 3pm EDT)
  • 27th July 2019: 9pm UTC (10pm UK, 6pm EDT)
  • 3rd August 2019: 8pm UTC (9pm UK, 4pm EDT)
My apologies in advance to anyone who is effectively excluded by some of those times but my only alternative is only to teach on 3 Saturdays out of every 5. The Sessions Calendar and Index page here and the Diary on the IAC site will always show the correct times for each week [once I set them up].
×

×

Sign in

×

Password Change

×

Register?


Remember me?